make/linux/makefiles/top.make

Print this page
rev 4773 : 8005849: JEP 167: Event-Based JVM Tracing
Reviewed-by: acorn, coleenp, sla
Contributed-by: Karen Kinnear <karen.kinnear@oracle.com>, Bengt Rutisson <bengt.rutisson@oracle.com>, Calvin Cheung <calvin.cheung@oracle.com>, Erik Gahlin <erik.gahlin@oracle.com>, Erik Helin <erik.helin@oracle.com>, Jesper Wilhelmsson <jesper.wilhelmsson@oracle.com>, Keith McGuigan <keith.mcguigan@oracle.com>, Mattias Tobiasson <mattias.tobiasson@oracle.com>, Markus Gronlund <markus.gronlund@oracle.com>, Mikael Auno <mikael.auno@oracle.com>, Nils Eliasson <nils.eliasson@oracle.com>, Nils Loodin <nils.loodin@oracle.com>, Rickard Backman <rickard.backman@oracle.com>, Staffan Larsen <staffan.larsen@oracle.com>, Stefan Karlsson <stefan.karlsson@oracle.com>, Yekaterina Kantserova <yekaterina.kantserova@oracle.com>
   1 #
   2 # Copyright (c) 1999, 2012, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
   3 # DO NOT ALTER OR REMOVE COPYRIGHT NOTICES OR THIS FILE HEADER.
   4 #
   5 # This code is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it
   6 # under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2 only, as
   7 # published by the Free Software Foundation.
   8 #
   9 # This code is distributed in the hope that it will be useful, but WITHOUT
  10 # ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of MERCHANTABILITY or
  11 # FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the GNU General Public License
  12 # version 2 for more details (a copy is included in the LICENSE file that
  13 # accompanied this code).
  14 #
  15 # You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License version
  16 # 2 along with this work; if not, write to the Free Software Foundation,
  17 # Inc., 51 Franklin St, Fifth Floor, Boston, MA 02110-1301 USA.
  18 #
  19 # Please contact Oracle, 500 Oracle Parkway, Redwood Shores, CA 94065 USA
  20 # or visit www.oracle.com if you need additional information or have any
  21 # questions.
  22 #  


  63 AD_Files = $(AD_Names:%=$(AD_Dir)/%)
  64 
  65 # AD_Files_If_Required/COMPILER1 = ad_stuff
  66 AD_Files_If_Required/COMPILER2 = ad_stuff
  67 AD_Files_If_Required/TIERED = ad_stuff
  68 AD_Files_If_Required = $(AD_Files_If_Required/$(TYPE))
  69 
  70 # Wierd argument adjustment for "gnumake -j..."
  71 adjust-mflags   = $(GENERATED)/adjust-mflags
  72 MFLAGS-adjusted = -r `$(adjust-mflags) "$(MFLAGS)" "$(HOTSPOT_BUILD_JOBS)"`
  73 
  74 
  75 # default target: update lists, make vm
  76 # done in stages to force sequential order with parallel make
  77 #
  78 
  79 default: vm_build_preliminaries the_vm
  80         @echo All done.
  81 
  82 # This is an explicit dependency for the sake of parallel makes.
  83 vm_build_preliminaries:  checks $(Cached_plat) $(AD_Files_If_Required) jvmti_stuff sa_stuff
  84         @# We need a null action here, so implicit rules don't get consulted.
  85 
  86 $(Cached_plat): $(Plat_File)
  87         $(CDG) cp $(Plat_File) $(Cached_plat)
  88 
  89 # make AD files as necessary
  90 ad_stuff: $(Cached_plat) $(adjust-mflags)
  91         @$(MAKE) -f adlc.make $(MFLAGS-adjusted)
  92 
  93 # generate JVMTI files from the spec
  94 jvmti_stuff: $(Cached_plat) $(adjust-mflags)
  95         @$(MAKE) -f jvmti.make $(MFLAGS-adjusted)
  96 




  97 # generate SA jar files and native header
  98 sa_stuff:
  99         @$(MAKE) -f sa.make $(MFLAGS-adjusted)
 100 
 101 # and the VM: must use other makefile with dependencies included
 102 
 103 # We have to go to great lengths to get control over the -jN argument
 104 # to the recursive invocation of vm.make.  The problem is that gnumake
 105 # resets -jN to -j1 for recursive runs.  (How helpful.)
 106 # Note that the user must specify the desired parallelism level via a
 107 # command-line or environment variable name HOTSPOT_BUILD_JOBS.
 108 $(adjust-mflags): $(GAMMADIR)/make/$(Platform_os_family)/makefiles/adjust-mflags.sh
 109         @+rm -f $@ $@+
 110         @+cat $< > $@+
 111         @+chmod +x $@+
 112         @+mv $@+ $@
 113 
 114 the_vm: vm_build_preliminaries $(adjust-mflags)
 115         @$(UpdatePCH)
 116         @$(MAKE) -f vm.make $(MFLAGS-adjusted)


   1 #
   2 # Copyright (c) 1999, 2013, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
   3 # DO NOT ALTER OR REMOVE COPYRIGHT NOTICES OR THIS FILE HEADER.
   4 #
   5 # This code is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it
   6 # under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2 only, as
   7 # published by the Free Software Foundation.
   8 #
   9 # This code is distributed in the hope that it will be useful, but WITHOUT
  10 # ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of MERCHANTABILITY or
  11 # FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the GNU General Public License
  12 # version 2 for more details (a copy is included in the LICENSE file that
  13 # accompanied this code).
  14 #
  15 # You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License version
  16 # 2 along with this work; if not, write to the Free Software Foundation,
  17 # Inc., 51 Franklin St, Fifth Floor, Boston, MA 02110-1301 USA.
  18 #
  19 # Please contact Oracle, 500 Oracle Parkway, Redwood Shores, CA 94065 USA
  20 # or visit www.oracle.com if you need additional information or have any
  21 # questions.
  22 #  


  63 AD_Files = $(AD_Names:%=$(AD_Dir)/%)
  64 
  65 # AD_Files_If_Required/COMPILER1 = ad_stuff
  66 AD_Files_If_Required/COMPILER2 = ad_stuff
  67 AD_Files_If_Required/TIERED = ad_stuff
  68 AD_Files_If_Required = $(AD_Files_If_Required/$(TYPE))
  69 
  70 # Wierd argument adjustment for "gnumake -j..."
  71 adjust-mflags   = $(GENERATED)/adjust-mflags
  72 MFLAGS-adjusted = -r `$(adjust-mflags) "$(MFLAGS)" "$(HOTSPOT_BUILD_JOBS)"`
  73 
  74 
  75 # default target: update lists, make vm
  76 # done in stages to force sequential order with parallel make
  77 #
  78 
  79 default: vm_build_preliminaries the_vm
  80         @echo All done.
  81 
  82 # This is an explicit dependency for the sake of parallel makes.
  83 vm_build_preliminaries:  checks $(Cached_plat) $(AD_Files_If_Required) trace_stuff jvmti_stuff sa_stuff
  84         @# We need a null action here, so implicit rules don't get consulted.
  85 
  86 $(Cached_plat): $(Plat_File)
  87         $(CDG) cp $(Plat_File) $(Cached_plat)
  88 
  89 # make AD files as necessary
  90 ad_stuff: $(Cached_plat) $(adjust-mflags)
  91         @$(MAKE) -f adlc.make $(MFLAGS-adjusted)
  92 
  93 # generate JVMTI files from the spec
  94 jvmti_stuff: $(Cached_plat) $(adjust-mflags)
  95         @$(MAKE) -f jvmti.make $(MFLAGS-adjusted)
  96 
  97 # generate trace files
  98 trace_stuff: jvmti_stuff $(Cached_plat) $(adjust-mflags)
  99         @$(MAKE) -f trace.make $(MFLAGS-adjusted)
 100 
 101 # generate SA jar files and native header
 102 sa_stuff:
 103         @$(MAKE) -f sa.make $(MFLAGS-adjusted)
 104 
 105 # and the VM: must use other makefile with dependencies included
 106 
 107 # We have to go to great lengths to get control over the -jN argument
 108 # to the recursive invocation of vm.make.  The problem is that gnumake
 109 # resets -jN to -j1 for recursive runs.  (How helpful.)
 110 # Note that the user must specify the desired parallelism level via a
 111 # command-line or environment variable name HOTSPOT_BUILD_JOBS.
 112 $(adjust-mflags): $(GAMMADIR)/make/$(Platform_os_family)/makefiles/adjust-mflags.sh
 113         @+rm -f $@ $@+
 114         @+cat $< > $@+
 115         @+chmod +x $@+
 116         @+mv $@+ $@
 117 
 118 the_vm: vm_build_preliminaries $(adjust-mflags)
 119         @$(UpdatePCH)
 120         @$(MAKE) -f vm.make $(MFLAGS-adjusted)