src/share/vm/gc_implementation/g1/g1MarkSweep.hpp

Print this page
rev 4773 : 8005849: JEP 167: Event-Based JVM Tracing
Reviewed-by: acorn, coleenp, sla
Contributed-by: Karen Kinnear <karen.kinnear@oracle.com>, Bengt Rutisson <bengt.rutisson@oracle.com>, Calvin Cheung <calvin.cheung@oracle.com>, Erik Gahlin <erik.gahlin@oracle.com>, Erik Helin <erik.helin@oracle.com>, Jesper Wilhelmsson <jesper.wilhelmsson@oracle.com>, Keith McGuigan <keith.mcguigan@oracle.com>, Mattias Tobiasson <mattias.tobiasson@oracle.com>, Markus Gronlund <markus.gronlund@oracle.com>, Mikael Auno <mikael.auno@oracle.com>, Nils Eliasson <nils.eliasson@oracle.com>, Nils Loodin <nils.loodin@oracle.com>, Rickard Backman <rickard.backman@oracle.com>, Staffan Larsen <staffan.larsen@oracle.com>, Stefan Karlsson <stefan.karlsson@oracle.com>, Yekaterina Kantserova <yekaterina.kantserova@oracle.com>
   1 /*
   2  * Copyright (c) 2001, 2010, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
   3  * DO NOT ALTER OR REMOVE COPYRIGHT NOTICES OR THIS FILE HEADER.
   4  *
   5  * This code is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it
   6  * under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2 only, as
   7  * published by the Free Software Foundation.
   8  *
   9  * This code is distributed in the hope that it will be useful, but WITHOUT
  10  * ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of MERCHANTABILITY or
  11  * FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the GNU General Public License
  12  * version 2 for more details (a copy is included in the LICENSE file that
  13  * accompanied this code).
  14  *
  15  * You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License version
  16  * 2 along with this work; if not, write to the Free Software Foundation,
  17  * Inc., 51 Franklin St, Fifth Floor, Boston, MA 02110-1301 USA.
  18  *
  19  * Please contact Oracle, 500 Oracle Parkway, Redwood Shores, CA 94065 USA
  20  * or visit www.oracle.com if you need additional information or have any
  21  * questions.
  22  *


  37 
  38 class ReferenceProcessor;
  39 
  40 // G1MarkSweep takes care of global mark-compact garbage collection for a
  41 // G1CollectedHeap using a four-phase pointer forwarding algorithm.  All
  42 // generations are assumed to support marking; those that can also support
  43 // compaction.
  44 //
  45 // Class unloading will only occur when a full gc is invoked.
  46 
  47 
  48 class G1MarkSweep : AllStatic {
  49   friend class VM_G1MarkSweep;
  50   friend class Scavenge;
  51 
  52  public:
  53 
  54   static void invoke_at_safepoint(ReferenceProcessor* rp,
  55                                   bool clear_all_softrefs);
  56 



  57  private:
  58 
  59   // Mark live objects
  60   static void mark_sweep_phase1(bool& marked_for_deopt,
  61                                 bool clear_all_softrefs);
  62   // Calculate new addresses
  63   static void mark_sweep_phase2();
  64   // Update pointers
  65   static void mark_sweep_phase3();
  66   // Move objects to new positions
  67   static void mark_sweep_phase4();
  68 
  69   static void allocate_stacks();
  70 };
  71 
  72 #endif // SHARE_VM_GC_IMPLEMENTATION_G1_G1MARKSWEEP_HPP
   1 /*
   2  * Copyright (c) 2001, 2013, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
   3  * DO NOT ALTER OR REMOVE COPYRIGHT NOTICES OR THIS FILE HEADER.
   4  *
   5  * This code is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it
   6  * under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2 only, as
   7  * published by the Free Software Foundation.
   8  *
   9  * This code is distributed in the hope that it will be useful, but WITHOUT
  10  * ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of MERCHANTABILITY or
  11  * FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the GNU General Public License
  12  * version 2 for more details (a copy is included in the LICENSE file that
  13  * accompanied this code).
  14  *
  15  * You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License version
  16  * 2 along with this work; if not, write to the Free Software Foundation,
  17  * Inc., 51 Franklin St, Fifth Floor, Boston, MA 02110-1301 USA.
  18  *
  19  * Please contact Oracle, 500 Oracle Parkway, Redwood Shores, CA 94065 USA
  20  * or visit www.oracle.com if you need additional information or have any
  21  * questions.
  22  *


  37 
  38 class ReferenceProcessor;
  39 
  40 // G1MarkSweep takes care of global mark-compact garbage collection for a
  41 // G1CollectedHeap using a four-phase pointer forwarding algorithm.  All
  42 // generations are assumed to support marking; those that can also support
  43 // compaction.
  44 //
  45 // Class unloading will only occur when a full gc is invoked.
  46 
  47 
  48 class G1MarkSweep : AllStatic {
  49   friend class VM_G1MarkSweep;
  50   friend class Scavenge;
  51 
  52  public:
  53 
  54   static void invoke_at_safepoint(ReferenceProcessor* rp,
  55                                   bool clear_all_softrefs);
  56 
  57   static STWGCTimer* gc_timer() { return GenMarkSweep::_gc_timer; }
  58   static SerialOldTracer* gc_tracer() { return GenMarkSweep::_gc_tracer; }
  59 
  60  private:
  61 
  62   // Mark live objects
  63   static void mark_sweep_phase1(bool& marked_for_deopt,
  64                                 bool clear_all_softrefs);
  65   // Calculate new addresses
  66   static void mark_sweep_phase2();
  67   // Update pointers
  68   static void mark_sweep_phase3();
  69   // Move objects to new positions
  70   static void mark_sweep_phase4();
  71 
  72   static void allocate_stacks();
  73 };
  74 
  75 #endif // SHARE_VM_GC_IMPLEMENTATION_G1_G1MARKSWEEP_HPP