src/share/vm/memory/defNewGeneration.cpp

Print this page
rev 4773 : 8005849: JEP 167: Event-Based JVM Tracing
Reviewed-by: acorn, coleenp, sla
Contributed-by: Karen Kinnear <karen.kinnear@oracle.com>, Bengt Rutisson <bengt.rutisson@oracle.com>, Calvin Cheung <calvin.cheung@oracle.com>, Erik Gahlin <erik.gahlin@oracle.com>, Erik Helin <erik.helin@oracle.com>, Jesper Wilhelmsson <jesper.wilhelmsson@oracle.com>, Keith McGuigan <keith.mcguigan@oracle.com>, Mattias Tobiasson <mattias.tobiasson@oracle.com>, Markus Gronlund <markus.gronlund@oracle.com>, Mikael Auno <mikael.auno@oracle.com>, Nils Eliasson <nils.eliasson@oracle.com>, Nils Loodin <nils.loodin@oracle.com>, Rickard Backman <rickard.backman@oracle.com>, Staffan Larsen <staffan.larsen@oracle.com>, Stefan Karlsson <stefan.karlsson@oracle.com>, Yekaterina Kantserova <yekaterina.kantserova@oracle.com>

@@ -1,7 +1,7 @@
 /*
- * Copyright (c) 2001, 2012, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
+ * Copyright (c) 2001, 2013, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
  * DO NOT ALTER OR REMOVE COPYRIGHT NOTICES OR THIS FILE HEADER.
  *
  * This code is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it
  * under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2 only, as
  * published by the Free Software Foundation.

@@ -23,10 +23,14 @@
  */
 
 #include "precompiled.hpp"
 #include "gc_implementation/shared/collectorCounters.hpp"
 #include "gc_implementation/shared/gcPolicyCounters.hpp"
+#include "gc_implementation/shared/gcHeapSummary.hpp"
+#include "gc_implementation/shared/gcTimer.hpp"
+#include "gc_implementation/shared/gcTraceTime.hpp"
+#include "gc_implementation/shared/gcTrace.hpp"
 #include "gc_implementation/shared/spaceDecorator.hpp"
 #include "memory/defNewGeneration.inline.hpp"
 #include "memory/gcLocker.inline.hpp"
 #include "memory/genCollectedHeap.hpp"
 #include "memory/genOopClosures.inline.hpp"

@@ -221,10 +225,12 @@
   compute_space_boundaries(0, SpaceDecorator::Clear, SpaceDecorator::Mangle);
   update_counters();
   _next_gen = NULL;
   _tenuring_threshold = MaxTenuringThreshold;
   _pretenure_size_threshold_words = PretenureSizeThreshold >> LogHeapWordSize;
+
+  _gc_timer = new (ResourceObj::C_HEAP, mtGC) STWGCTimer();
 }
 
 void DefNewGeneration::compute_space_boundaries(uintx minimum_eden_size,
                                                 bool clear_space,
                                                 bool mangle_space) {

@@ -556,16 +562,22 @@
 void DefNewGeneration::collect(bool   full,
                                bool   clear_all_soft_refs,
                                size_t size,
                                bool   is_tlab) {
   assert(full || size > 0, "otherwise we don't want to collect");
+
   GenCollectedHeap* gch = GenCollectedHeap::heap();
+
+  _gc_timer->register_gc_start(os::elapsed_counter());
+  DefNewTracer gc_tracer;
+  gc_tracer.report_gc_start(gch->gc_cause(), _gc_timer->gc_start());
+
   _next_gen = gch->next_gen(this);
   assert(_next_gen != NULL,
     "This must be the youngest gen, and not the only gen");
 
-  // If the next generation is too full to accomodate promotion
+  // If the next generation is too full to accommodate promotion
   // from this generation, pass on collection; let the next generation
   // do it.
   if (!collection_attempt_is_safe()) {
     if (Verbose && PrintGCDetails) {
       gclog_or_tty->print(" :: Collection attempt not safe :: ");

@@ -575,14 +587,16 @@
   }
   assert(to()->is_empty(), "Else not collection_attempt_is_safe");
 
   init_assuming_no_promotion_failure();
 
-  TraceTime t1(GCCauseString("GC", gch->gc_cause()), PrintGC && !PrintGCDetails, true, gclog_or_tty);
+  GCTraceTime t1(GCCauseString("GC", gch->gc_cause()), PrintGC && !PrintGCDetails, true, NULL);
   // Capture heap used before collection (for printing).
   size_t gch_prev_used = gch->used();
 
+  gch->trace_heap_before_gc(&gc_tracer);
+
   SpecializationStats::clear();
 
   // These can be shared for all code paths
   IsAliveClosure is_alive(this);
   ScanWeakRefClosure scan_weak_ref(this);

@@ -629,13 +643,16 @@
   evacuate_followers.do_void();
 
   FastKeepAliveClosure keep_alive(this, &scan_weak_ref);
   ReferenceProcessor* rp = ref_processor();
   rp->setup_policy(clear_all_soft_refs);
+  const ReferenceProcessorStats& stats =
   rp->process_discovered_references(&is_alive, &keep_alive, &evacuate_followers,
-                                    NULL);
-  if (!promotion_failed()) {
+                                    NULL, _gc_timer);
+  gc_tracer.report_gc_reference_stats(stats);
+
+  if (!_promotion_failed) {
     // Swap the survivor spaces.
     eden()->clear(SpaceDecorator::Mangle);
     from()->clear(SpaceDecorator::Mangle);
     if (ZapUnusedHeapArea) {
       // This is now done here because of the piece-meal mangling which

@@ -678,24 +695,32 @@
     from()->set_next_compaction_space(to());
     gch->set_incremental_collection_failed();
 
     // Inform the next generation that a promotion failure occurred.
     _next_gen->promotion_failure_occurred();
+    gc_tracer.report_promotion_failed(_promotion_failed_info);
 
     // Reset the PromotionFailureALot counters.
     NOT_PRODUCT(Universe::heap()->reset_promotion_should_fail();)
   }
   // set new iteration safe limit for the survivor spaces
   from()->set_concurrent_iteration_safe_limit(from()->top());
   to()->set_concurrent_iteration_safe_limit(to()->top());
   SpecializationStats::print();
 
-  // We need to use a monotonically non-deccreasing time in ms
+  // We need to use a monotonically non-decreasing time in ms
   // or we will see time-warp warnings and os::javaTimeMillis()
   // does not guarantee monotonicity.
   jlong now = os::javaTimeNanos() / NANOSECS_PER_MILLISEC;
   update_time_of_last_gc(now);
+
+  gch->trace_heap_after_gc(&gc_tracer);
+  gc_tracer.report_tenuring_threshold(tenuring_threshold());
+
+  _gc_timer->register_gc_end(os::elapsed_counter());
+
+  gc_tracer.report_gc_end(_gc_timer->gc_end(), _gc_timer->time_partitions());
 }
 
 class RemoveForwardPointerClosure: public ObjectClosure {
 public:
   void do_object(oop obj) {

@@ -703,10 +728,11 @@
   }
 };
 
 void DefNewGeneration::init_assuming_no_promotion_failure() {
   _promotion_failed = false;
+  _promotion_failed_info.reset();
   from()->set_next_compaction_space(NULL);
 }
 
 void DefNewGeneration::remove_forwarding_pointers() {
   RemoveForwardPointerClosure rspc;

@@ -724,11 +750,11 @@
   _objs_with_preserved_marks.clear(true);
   _preserved_marks_of_objs.clear(true);
 }
 
 void DefNewGeneration::preserve_mark(oop obj, markOop m) {
-  assert(promotion_failed() && m->must_be_preserved_for_promotion_failure(obj),
+  assert(_promotion_failed && m->must_be_preserved_for_promotion_failure(obj),
          "Oversaving!");
   _objs_with_preserved_marks.push(obj);
   _preserved_marks_of_objs.push(m);
 }
 

@@ -742,10 +768,11 @@
   if (PrintPromotionFailure && !_promotion_failed) {
     gclog_or_tty->print(" (promotion failure size = " SIZE_FORMAT ") ",
                         old->size());
   }
   _promotion_failed = true;
+  _promotion_failed_info.register_copy_failure(old->size());
   preserve_mark_if_necessary(old, old->mark());
   // forward to self
   old->forward_to(old);
 
   _promo_failure_scan_stack.push(old);

@@ -960,10 +987,14 @@
   eden()->set_top_for_allocations();
   to()->set_top_for_allocations();
   from()->set_top_for_allocations();
 }
 
+void DefNewGeneration::ref_processor_init() {
+  Generation::ref_processor_init();
+}
+
 
 void DefNewGeneration::update_counters() {
   if (UsePerfData) {
     _eden_counters->update_all();
     _from_counters->update_all();