src/share/vm/memory/genCollectedHeap.cpp

Print this page
rev 4773 : 8005849: JEP 167: Event-Based JVM Tracing
Reviewed-by: acorn, coleenp, sla
Contributed-by: Karen Kinnear <karen.kinnear@oracle.com>, Bengt Rutisson <bengt.rutisson@oracle.com>, Calvin Cheung <calvin.cheung@oracle.com>, Erik Gahlin <erik.gahlin@oracle.com>, Erik Helin <erik.helin@oracle.com>, Jesper Wilhelmsson <jesper.wilhelmsson@oracle.com>, Keith McGuigan <keith.mcguigan@oracle.com>, Mattias Tobiasson <mattias.tobiasson@oracle.com>, Markus Gronlund <markus.gronlund@oracle.com>, Mikael Auno <mikael.auno@oracle.com>, Nils Eliasson <nils.eliasson@oracle.com>, Nils Loodin <nils.loodin@oracle.com>, Rickard Backman <rickard.backman@oracle.com>, Staffan Larsen <staffan.larsen@oracle.com>, Stefan Karlsson <stefan.karlsson@oracle.com>, Yekaterina Kantserova <yekaterina.kantserova@oracle.com>

@@ -1,7 +1,7 @@
 /*
- * Copyright (c) 2000, 2012, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
+ * Copyright (c) 2000, 2013, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
  * DO NOT ALTER OR REMOVE COPYRIGHT NOTICES OR THIS FILE HEADER.
  *
  * This code is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it
  * under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2 only, as
  * published by the Free Software Foundation.

@@ -26,10 +26,11 @@
 #include "classfile/symbolTable.hpp"
 #include "classfile/systemDictionary.hpp"
 #include "classfile/vmSymbols.hpp"
 #include "code/icBuffer.hpp"
 #include "gc_implementation/shared/collectorCounters.hpp"
+#include "gc_implementation/shared/gcTraceTime.hpp"
 #include "gc_implementation/shared/vmGCOperations.hpp"
 #include "gc_interface/collectedHeap.inline.hpp"
 #include "memory/filemap.hpp"
 #include "memory/gcLocker.inline.hpp"
 #include "memory/genCollectedHeap.hpp"

@@ -386,11 +387,11 @@
 
     bool complete = full && (max_level == (n_gens()-1));
     const char* gc_cause_prefix = complete ? "Full GC" : "GC";
     gclog_or_tty->date_stamp(PrintGC && PrintGCDateStamps);
     TraceCPUTime tcpu(PrintGCDetails, true, gclog_or_tty);
-    TraceTime t(GCCauseString(gc_cause_prefix, gc_cause()), PrintGCDetails, false, gclog_or_tty);
+    GCTraceTime t(GCCauseString(gc_cause_prefix, gc_cause()), PrintGCDetails, false, NULL);
 
     gc_prologue(complete);
     increment_total_collections(complete);
 
     size_t gch_prev_used = used();

@@ -415,14 +416,15 @@
         if (i == n_gens() - 1) {  // a major collection is to happen
           if (!complete) {
             // The full_collections increment was missed above.
             increment_total_full_collections();
           }
-          pre_full_gc_dump();    // do any pre full gc dumps
+          pre_full_gc_dump(NULL);    // do any pre full gc dumps
         }
         // Timer for individual generations. Last argument is false: no CR
-        TraceTime t1(_gens[i]->short_name(), PrintGCDetails, false, gclog_or_tty);
+        // FIXME: We should try to start the timing earlier to cover more of the GC pause
+        GCTraceTime t1(_gens[i]->short_name(), PrintGCDetails, false, NULL);
         TraceCollectorStats tcs(_gens[i]->counters());
         TraceMemoryManagerStats tmms(_gens[i]->kind(),gc_cause());
 
         size_t prev_used = _gens[i]->used();
         _gens[i]->stat_record()->invocations++;

@@ -532,11 +534,12 @@
     // for instance, a promotion failure could have led to
     // a whole heap collection.
     complete = complete || (max_level_collected == n_gens() - 1);
 
     if (complete) { // We did a "major" collection
-      post_full_gc_dump();   // do any post full gc dumps
+      // FIXME: See comment at pre_full_gc_dump call
+      post_full_gc_dump(NULL);   // do any post full gc dumps
     }
 
     if (PrintGCDetails) {
       print_heap_change(gch_prev_used);