src/share/vm/memory/genMarkSweep.cpp

Print this page
rev 4773 : 8005849: JEP 167: Event-Based JVM Tracing
Reviewed-by: acorn, coleenp, sla
Contributed-by: Karen Kinnear <karen.kinnear@oracle.com>, Bengt Rutisson <bengt.rutisson@oracle.com>, Calvin Cheung <calvin.cheung@oracle.com>, Erik Gahlin <erik.gahlin@oracle.com>, Erik Helin <erik.helin@oracle.com>, Jesper Wilhelmsson <jesper.wilhelmsson@oracle.com>, Keith McGuigan <keith.mcguigan@oracle.com>, Mattias Tobiasson <mattias.tobiasson@oracle.com>, Markus Gronlund <markus.gronlund@oracle.com>, Mikael Auno <mikael.auno@oracle.com>, Nils Eliasson <nils.eliasson@oracle.com>, Nils Loodin <nils.loodin@oracle.com>, Rickard Backman <rickard.backman@oracle.com>, Staffan Larsen <staffan.larsen@oracle.com>, Stefan Karlsson <stefan.karlsson@oracle.com>, Yekaterina Kantserova <yekaterina.kantserova@oracle.com>

@@ -1,7 +1,7 @@
 /*
- * Copyright (c) 2001, 2012, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
+ * Copyright (c) 2001, 2013, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
  * DO NOT ALTER OR REMOVE COPYRIGHT NOTICES OR THIS FILE HEADER.
  *
  * This code is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it
  * under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2 only, as
  * published by the Free Software Foundation.

@@ -27,10 +27,14 @@
 #include "classfile/symbolTable.hpp"
 #include "classfile/systemDictionary.hpp"
 #include "classfile/vmSymbols.hpp"
 #include "code/codeCache.hpp"
 #include "code/icBuffer.hpp"
+#include "gc_implementation/shared/gcHeapSummary.hpp"
+#include "gc_implementation/shared/gcTimer.hpp"
+#include "gc_implementation/shared/gcTrace.hpp"
+#include "gc_implementation/shared/gcTraceTime.hpp"
 #include "gc_interface/collectedHeap.inline.hpp"
 #include "memory/genCollectedHeap.hpp"
 #include "memory/genMarkSweep.hpp"
 #include "memory/genOopClosures.inline.hpp"
 #include "memory/generation.inline.hpp"

@@ -63,11 +67,13 @@
   assert(ref_processor() == NULL, "no stomping");
   assert(rp != NULL, "should be non-NULL");
   _ref_processor = rp;
   rp->setup_policy(clear_all_softrefs);
 
-  TraceTime t1(GCCauseString("Full GC", gch->gc_cause()), PrintGC && !PrintGCDetails, true, gclog_or_tty);
+  GCTraceTime t1(GCCauseString("Full GC", gch->gc_cause()), PrintGC && !PrintGCDetails, true, NULL);
+
+  gch->trace_heap_before_gc(_gc_tracer);
 
   // When collecting the permanent generation Method*s may be moving,
   // so we either have to flush all bcp data or convert it into bci.
   CodeCache::gc_prologue();
   Threads::gc_prologue();

@@ -153,10 +159,12 @@
   // We need to use a monotonically non-deccreasing time in ms
   // or we will see time-warp warnings and os::javaTimeMillis()
   // does not guarantee monotonicity.
   jlong now = os::javaTimeNanos() / NANOSECS_PER_MILLISEC;
   gch->update_time_of_last_gc(now);
+
+  gch->trace_heap_after_gc(_gc_tracer);
 }
 
 void GenMarkSweep::allocate_stacks() {
   GenCollectedHeap* gch = GenCollectedHeap::heap();
   // Scratch request on behalf of oldest generation; will do no

@@ -190,11 +198,11 @@
 }
 
 void GenMarkSweep::mark_sweep_phase1(int level,
                                   bool clear_all_softrefs) {
   // Recursively traverse all live objects and mark them
-  TraceTime tm("phase 1", PrintGC && Verbose, true, gclog_or_tty);
+  GCTraceTime tm("phase 1", PrintGC && Verbose, true, _gc_timer);
   trace(" 1");
 
   GenCollectedHeap* gch = GenCollectedHeap::heap();
 
   // Because follow_root_closure is created statically, cannot

@@ -217,12 +225,14 @@
                                 &follow_klass_closure);
 
   // Process reference objects found during marking
   {
     ref_processor()->setup_policy(clear_all_softrefs);
+    const ReferenceProcessorStats& stats =
     ref_processor()->process_discovered_references(
-      &is_alive, &keep_alive, &follow_stack_closure, NULL);
+        &is_alive, &keep_alive, &follow_stack_closure, NULL, _gc_timer);
+    gc_tracer()->report_gc_reference_stats(stats);
   }
 
   // This is the point where the entire marking should have completed.
   assert(_marking_stack.is_empty(), "Marking should have completed");
 

@@ -238,10 +248,12 @@
   // Delete entries for dead interned strings.
   StringTable::unlink(&is_alive);
 
   // Clean up unreferenced symbols in symbol table.
   SymbolTable::unlink();
+
+  gc_tracer()->report_object_count_after_gc(&is_alive);
 }
 
 
 void GenMarkSweep::mark_sweep_phase2() {
   // Now all live objects are marked, compute the new object addresses.

@@ -257,11 +269,11 @@
   // phase2, phase3 and phase4, but the ValidateMarkSweep live oops
   // tracking expects us to do so. See comment under phase4.
 
   GenCollectedHeap* gch = GenCollectedHeap::heap();
 
-  TraceTime tm("phase 2", PrintGC && Verbose, true, gclog_or_tty);
+  GCTraceTime tm("phase 2", PrintGC && Verbose, true, _gc_timer);
   trace("2");
 
   gch->prepare_for_compaction();
 }
 

@@ -274,11 +286,11 @@
 
 void GenMarkSweep::mark_sweep_phase3(int level) {
   GenCollectedHeap* gch = GenCollectedHeap::heap();
 
   // Adjust the pointers to reflect the new locations
-  TraceTime tm("phase 3", PrintGC && Verbose, true, gclog_or_tty);
+  GCTraceTime tm("phase 3", PrintGC && Verbose, true, _gc_timer);
   trace("3");
 
   // Need new claim bits for the pointer adjustment tracing.
   ClassLoaderDataGraph::clear_claimed_marks();
 

@@ -329,11 +341,11 @@
   // in the same order in phase2, phase3 and phase4. We don't quite do that
   // here (perm_gen first rather than last), so we tell the validate code
   // to use a higher index (saved from phase2) when verifying perm_gen.
   GenCollectedHeap* gch = GenCollectedHeap::heap();
 
-  TraceTime tm("phase 4", PrintGC && Verbose, true, gclog_or_tty);
+  GCTraceTime tm("phase 4", PrintGC && Verbose, true, _gc_timer);
   trace("4");
 
   GenCompactClosure blk;
   gch->generation_iterate(&blk, true);
 }