src/share/vm/memory/generation.cpp

Print this page
rev 4773 : 8005849: JEP 167: Event-Based JVM Tracing
Reviewed-by: acorn, coleenp, sla
Contributed-by: Karen Kinnear <karen.kinnear@oracle.com>, Bengt Rutisson <bengt.rutisson@oracle.com>, Calvin Cheung <calvin.cheung@oracle.com>, Erik Gahlin <erik.gahlin@oracle.com>, Erik Helin <erik.helin@oracle.com>, Jesper Wilhelmsson <jesper.wilhelmsson@oracle.com>, Keith McGuigan <keith.mcguigan@oracle.com>, Mattias Tobiasson <mattias.tobiasson@oracle.com>, Markus Gronlund <markus.gronlund@oracle.com>, Mikael Auno <mikael.auno@oracle.com>, Nils Eliasson <nils.eliasson@oracle.com>, Nils Loodin <nils.loodin@oracle.com>, Rickard Backman <rickard.backman@oracle.com>, Staffan Larsen <staffan.larsen@oracle.com>, Stefan Karlsson <stefan.karlsson@oracle.com>, Yekaterina Kantserova <yekaterina.kantserova@oracle.com>

@@ -1,7 +1,7 @@
 /*
- * Copyright (c) 1997, 2012, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
+ * Copyright (c) 1997, 2013, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
  * DO NOT ALTER OR REMOVE COPYRIGHT NOTICES OR THIS FILE HEADER.
  *
  * This code is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it
  * under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2 only, as
  * published by the Free Software Foundation.

@@ -21,10 +21,12 @@
  * questions.
  *
  */
 
 #include "precompiled.hpp"
+#include "gc_implementation/shared/gcTimer.hpp"
+#include "gc_implementation/shared/gcTrace.hpp"
 #include "gc_implementation/shared/spaceDecorator.hpp"
 #include "gc_interface/collectedHeap.inline.hpp"
 #include "memory/allocation.inline.hpp"
 #include "memory/blockOffsetTable.inline.hpp"
 #include "memory/cardTableRS.hpp"

@@ -622,16 +624,30 @@
 
 void OneContigSpaceCardGeneration::collect(bool   full,
                                            bool   clear_all_soft_refs,
                                            size_t size,
                                            bool   is_tlab) {
+  GenCollectedHeap* gch = GenCollectedHeap::heap();
+
   SpecializationStats::clear();
   // Temporarily expand the span of our ref processor, so
   // refs discovery is over the entire heap, not just this generation
   ReferenceProcessorSpanMutator
-    x(ref_processor(), GenCollectedHeap::heap()->reserved_region());
+    x(ref_processor(), gch->reserved_region());
+
+  STWGCTimer* gc_timer = GenMarkSweep::gc_timer();
+  gc_timer->register_gc_start(os::elapsed_counter());
+
+  SerialOldTracer* gc_tracer = GenMarkSweep::gc_tracer();
+  gc_tracer->report_gc_start(gch->gc_cause(), gc_timer->gc_start());
+
   GenMarkSweep::invoke_at_safepoint(_level, ref_processor(), clear_all_soft_refs);
+
+  gc_timer->register_gc_end(os::elapsed_counter());
+
+  gc_tracer->report_gc_end(os::elapsed_counter(), gc_timer->time_partitions());
+
   SpecializationStats::print();
 }
 
 HeapWord*
 OneContigSpaceCardGeneration::expand_and_allocate(size_t word_size,