src/share/vm/runtime/task.cpp

Print this page
rev 4773 : 8005849: JEP 167: Event-Based JVM Tracing
Reviewed-by: acorn, coleenp, sla
Contributed-by: Karen Kinnear <karen.kinnear@oracle.com>, Bengt Rutisson <bengt.rutisson@oracle.com>, Calvin Cheung <calvin.cheung@oracle.com>, Erik Gahlin <erik.gahlin@oracle.com>, Erik Helin <erik.helin@oracle.com>, Jesper Wilhelmsson <jesper.wilhelmsson@oracle.com>, Keith McGuigan <keith.mcguigan@oracle.com>, Mattias Tobiasson <mattias.tobiasson@oracle.com>, Markus Gronlund <markus.gronlund@oracle.com>, Mikael Auno <mikael.auno@oracle.com>, Nils Eliasson <nils.eliasson@oracle.com>, Nils Loodin <nils.loodin@oracle.com>, Rickard Backman <rickard.backman@oracle.com>, Staffan Larsen <staffan.larsen@oracle.com>, Stefan Karlsson <stefan.karlsson@oracle.com>, Yekaterina Kantserova <yekaterina.kantserova@oracle.com>

*** 1,7 **** /* ! * Copyright (c) 1997, 2010, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved. * DO NOT ALTER OR REMOVE COPYRIGHT NOTICES OR THIS FILE HEADER. * * This code is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it * under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2 only, as * published by the Free Software Foundation. --- 1,7 ---- /* ! * Copyright (c) 1997, 2013, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved. * DO NOT ALTER OR REMOVE COPYRIGHT NOTICES OR THIS FILE HEADER. * * This code is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it * under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2 only, as * published by the Free Software Foundation.
*** 112,124 **** PeriodicTask::~PeriodicTask() { disenroll(); } void PeriodicTask::enroll() { MutexLockerEx ml(PeriodicTask_lock->owned_by_self() ? ! NULL : PeriodicTask_lock, Mutex::_no_safepoint_check_flag); if (_num_tasks == PeriodicTask::max_tasks) { fatal("Overflow in PeriodicTask table"); } _tasks[_num_tasks++] = this; --- 112,126 ---- PeriodicTask::~PeriodicTask() { disenroll(); } + /* enroll could be called from a JavaThread, so we have to check for + * safepoint when taking the lock to avoid deadlocking */ void PeriodicTask::enroll() { MutexLockerEx ml(PeriodicTask_lock->owned_by_self() ? ! NULL : PeriodicTask_lock); if (_num_tasks == PeriodicTask::max_tasks) { fatal("Overflow in PeriodicTask table"); } _tasks[_num_tasks++] = this;
*** 129,141 **** } else { WatcherThread::start(); } } void PeriodicTask::disenroll() { MutexLockerEx ml(PeriodicTask_lock->owned_by_self() ? ! NULL : PeriodicTask_lock, Mutex::_no_safepoint_check_flag); int index; for(index = 0; index < _num_tasks && _tasks[index] != this; index++) ; --- 131,145 ---- } else { WatcherThread::start(); } } + /* disenroll could be called from a JavaThread, so we have to check for + * safepoint when taking the lock to avoid deadlocking */ void PeriodicTask::disenroll() { MutexLockerEx ml(PeriodicTask_lock->owned_by_self() ? ! NULL : PeriodicTask_lock); int index; for(index = 0; index < _num_tasks && _tasks[index] != this; index++) ;