src/share/vm/runtime/task.cpp

Print this page
rev 4773 : 8005849: JEP 167: Event-Based JVM Tracing
Reviewed-by: acorn, coleenp, sla
Contributed-by: Karen Kinnear <karen.kinnear@oracle.com>, Bengt Rutisson <bengt.rutisson@oracle.com>, Calvin Cheung <calvin.cheung@oracle.com>, Erik Gahlin <erik.gahlin@oracle.com>, Erik Helin <erik.helin@oracle.com>, Jesper Wilhelmsson <jesper.wilhelmsson@oracle.com>, Keith McGuigan <keith.mcguigan@oracle.com>, Mattias Tobiasson <mattias.tobiasson@oracle.com>, Markus Gronlund <markus.gronlund@oracle.com>, Mikael Auno <mikael.auno@oracle.com>, Nils Eliasson <nils.eliasson@oracle.com>, Nils Loodin <nils.loodin@oracle.com>, Rickard Backman <rickard.backman@oracle.com>, Staffan Larsen <staffan.larsen@oracle.com>, Stefan Karlsson <stefan.karlsson@oracle.com>, Yekaterina Kantserova <yekaterina.kantserova@oracle.com>
   1 /*
   2  * Copyright (c) 1997, 2010, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
   3  * DO NOT ALTER OR REMOVE COPYRIGHT NOTICES OR THIS FILE HEADER.
   4  *
   5  * This code is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it
   6  * under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2 only, as
   7  * published by the Free Software Foundation.
   8  *
   9  * This code is distributed in the hope that it will be useful, but WITHOUT
  10  * ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of MERCHANTABILITY or
  11  * FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the GNU General Public License
  12  * version 2 for more details (a copy is included in the LICENSE file that
  13  * accompanied this code).
  14  *
  15  * You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License version
  16  * 2 along with this work; if not, write to the Free Software Foundation,
  17  * Inc., 51 Franklin St, Fifth Floor, Boston, MA 02110-1301 USA.
  18  *
  19  * Please contact Oracle, 500 Oracle Parkway, Redwood Shores, CA 94065 USA
  20  * or visit www.oracle.com if you need additional information or have any
  21  * questions.
  22  *


  97   for (int index = 1; index < _num_tasks; index++) {
  98     delay = MIN2(delay, _tasks[index]->time_to_next_interval());
  99   }
 100   return delay;
 101 }
 102 
 103 
 104 PeriodicTask::PeriodicTask(size_t interval_time) :
 105   _counter(0), _interval((int) interval_time) {
 106   // Sanity check the interval time
 107   assert(_interval >= PeriodicTask::min_interval &&
 108          _interval <= PeriodicTask::max_interval &&
 109          _interval %  PeriodicTask::interval_gran == 0,
 110               "improper PeriodicTask interval time");
 111 }
 112 
 113 PeriodicTask::~PeriodicTask() {
 114   disenroll();
 115 }
 116 


 117 void PeriodicTask::enroll() {
 118   MutexLockerEx ml(PeriodicTask_lock->owned_by_self() ?
 119                      NULL : PeriodicTask_lock, Mutex::_no_safepoint_check_flag);
 120 
 121   if (_num_tasks == PeriodicTask::max_tasks) {
 122     fatal("Overflow in PeriodicTask table");
 123   }
 124   _tasks[_num_tasks++] = this;
 125 
 126   WatcherThread* thread = WatcherThread::watcher_thread();
 127   if (thread) {
 128     thread->unpark();
 129   } else {
 130     WatcherThread::start();
 131   }
 132 }
 133 


 134 void PeriodicTask::disenroll() {
 135   MutexLockerEx ml(PeriodicTask_lock->owned_by_self() ?
 136                      NULL : PeriodicTask_lock, Mutex::_no_safepoint_check_flag);
 137 
 138   int index;
 139   for(index = 0; index < _num_tasks && _tasks[index] != this; index++)
 140     ;
 141 
 142   if (index == _num_tasks) {
 143     return;
 144   }
 145 
 146   _num_tasks--;
 147 
 148   for (; index < _num_tasks; index++) {
 149     _tasks[index] = _tasks[index+1];
 150   }
 151 }
   1 /*
   2  * Copyright (c) 1997, 2013, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
   3  * DO NOT ALTER OR REMOVE COPYRIGHT NOTICES OR THIS FILE HEADER.
   4  *
   5  * This code is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it
   6  * under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2 only, as
   7  * published by the Free Software Foundation.
   8  *
   9  * This code is distributed in the hope that it will be useful, but WITHOUT
  10  * ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of MERCHANTABILITY or
  11  * FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the GNU General Public License
  12  * version 2 for more details (a copy is included in the LICENSE file that
  13  * accompanied this code).
  14  *
  15  * You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License version
  16  * 2 along with this work; if not, write to the Free Software Foundation,
  17  * Inc., 51 Franklin St, Fifth Floor, Boston, MA 02110-1301 USA.
  18  *
  19  * Please contact Oracle, 500 Oracle Parkway, Redwood Shores, CA 94065 USA
  20  * or visit www.oracle.com if you need additional information or have any
  21  * questions.
  22  *


  97   for (int index = 1; index < _num_tasks; index++) {
  98     delay = MIN2(delay, _tasks[index]->time_to_next_interval());
  99   }
 100   return delay;
 101 }
 102 
 103 
 104 PeriodicTask::PeriodicTask(size_t interval_time) :
 105   _counter(0), _interval((int) interval_time) {
 106   // Sanity check the interval time
 107   assert(_interval >= PeriodicTask::min_interval &&
 108          _interval <= PeriodicTask::max_interval &&
 109          _interval %  PeriodicTask::interval_gran == 0,
 110               "improper PeriodicTask interval time");
 111 }
 112 
 113 PeriodicTask::~PeriodicTask() {
 114   disenroll();
 115 }
 116 
 117 /* enroll could be called from a JavaThread, so we have to check for
 118  * safepoint when taking the lock to avoid deadlocking */
 119 void PeriodicTask::enroll() {
 120   MutexLockerEx ml(PeriodicTask_lock->owned_by_self() ?
 121                      NULL : PeriodicTask_lock);
 122 
 123   if (_num_tasks == PeriodicTask::max_tasks) {
 124     fatal("Overflow in PeriodicTask table");
 125   }
 126   _tasks[_num_tasks++] = this;
 127 
 128   WatcherThread* thread = WatcherThread::watcher_thread();
 129   if (thread) {
 130     thread->unpark();
 131   } else {
 132     WatcherThread::start();
 133   }
 134 }
 135 
 136 /* disenroll could be called from a JavaThread, so we have to check for
 137  * safepoint when taking the lock to avoid deadlocking */
 138 void PeriodicTask::disenroll() {
 139   MutexLockerEx ml(PeriodicTask_lock->owned_by_self() ?
 140                      NULL : PeriodicTask_lock);
 141 
 142   int index;
 143   for(index = 0; index < _num_tasks && _tasks[index] != this; index++)
 144     ;
 145 
 146   if (index == _num_tasks) {
 147     return;
 148   }
 149 
 150   _num_tasks--;
 151 
 152   for (; index < _num_tasks; index++) {
 153     _tasks[index] = _tasks[index+1];
 154   }
 155 }